harmonicprogression

The Mission

In harmony/BGVs, Know This, Mission Statement, Music, Music Business, nashville, Songwriting, Uncategorized on September 2, 2009 at 12:30 pm

NMB-logoThe purpose of this blog is to keep music, art, creativity, and everything that is beautiful, deep and true alive in myself and encourage it in others. I personally struggle on a daily basis to find my place in this world between the reality of life, the ideals in my mind, and the passion in my soul. So quickly life can march right over us and leave dreams undiscovered. Someone once said if you have a dream – live it; if you don’t get a job. Currently my “job” is to tackle this Nashville world and its music industry so I can achieve my dreams. I get a great deal of tips from people along the way and as I hear of a good service, website or studio etc… I am going to pass it along.

Why Nashville Music Buzz?

Nashville – the town I find myself in love with. Ten years ago, I would have laughed if you told me I would be right here, right now. That is just how life works isn’t it? This community is bursting with creativity, insight, empathy, desire, talent, compassion, and drive. I can’t imagine another place I would rather take this musical journey. I am humbled to be involved with some amazing events and very talented people.

Music – a gift from God that has pursued me my whole life. It is more than just sounds being generated by a piece of wood or metal or by the human instrument. It is the dialogue of our soul. It speaks for us when we can’t find the words. It understands how we feel when no one else can. Music never interrupts and can always make someone have a better day. As I struggle through the new lyrics and learn original melodies for demos/BGVs, I am going to attempt to show my heart and take you on my personal experience.

Buzz – industrious bee, that is what my name means. Even though it started with my name, I thought about all the ways it could apply to Nashville. New artists and trends create a “buzz” around town. Ask any PR person in town and press can make or break your career. You have to get out there and make people start talking about you. So this blog is a chance for me relay industry buzz I hear around town and encourage you to be the headline maker yourself!

This blog is going to be here to remind you what moves you. Every song, endeavor, project, company, or life path starts somewhere. For example some music comes from personal triumph or defeat. At times it can come from a passing phrase or movie line. Songs can also be the songwriter’s reaction to events in the lives of their friends, community, or nation. But deeper than where a song comes from is the question: why write in the first place? What motivates or moves a person to let down their emotional walls, let their imaginations go, and free their hearts to be deeply empathetic? The roller coaster process of creating anything is not a task for the faint of heart.

“Art, when found at home on the canvas

or on a journey across the dance floor

or in the movement of the melody and lyrics of a song,

needs to be encouraged and nurtured.”

~ Debra Gordon


Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

