harmonicprogression

Time’s Not Afraid To Fly: Inspiration

In Favorite Song, Hear this, Lyrics, Music, People that Rock, Perspective, Songwriting, You HAVE to on January 8, 2010 at 12:00 pm

Being that this is the final entry in a three part series of blogs, it is only fair to reveal the source of Time’s Not Afraid To Fly.  Last summer I had the honor of being accepted to attend Skip Ewing’s Horse and Writer event in Wyoming.  This week-long event connected me with some of best undiscovered musical talent of Nashville.  One of the other invited songwriters was Jeffrey East.  Jeffrey is one of those passionately, musical souls you meet along the way that you are definitely better for knowing.  As I was listening to Time on his youtube channel, I realized that was it the beginning of my first blog for 2010.

The song starts out like this…

You can take it if you need it
Let it take you in it’s hands
You can watch it crawl upon the wall
Or kill it if you can
You can stand on the ground
And watch it slip on by
Time’s not afraid to fly

watch entire video to hear full song

I had the chance to throw a few questions Jeffrey’s way…

Where are you from?

Dale, Texas, then Franklin, Kentucky, then Bowling Green, KY – now reside in Nashville, TN

Why/when did you move to Nashville?

June 23, 2008.  I felt as though the time had come to really chase after my dreams.  It was a hard move, but I’m so glad I made it.

Did you write or perform before here? What got you started?

I wrote my first real song in 2003 after I had my first ever “heartbreak”.  Then, after not really writing at all, I started writing again in late 2005, early 2006 when my dad was diagnosed with cancer, and passed on January 5, 2006.  Needless to say, I was his blindsided with emotion with all of that and started writing as a result.  I only had a handful of songs, but with those songs, I was fortunate enough to have met the amazing Harley Allen, and he signed me to his company, Harley Allen Music, as his only staff writer.

Why do you like to write songs?

Songwriting is my therapy. It’s helped through a lot over the last few years. I’m so thankful God gave me this gift, if not for any reason other than I swear it’s kept me sane.

Co-write or not? Why or why not?

I spent my first 3 years as a writer without a single cowrite!  Mostly because I lived in Kentucky, and didn’t have anyone to write with, but partly because I just didn’t want to.  Since writing was such a personal experience for me from the beginning, the thought of meeting some random person and baring my soul in such an intimate process seemed a bit outlandish to me.  But, since I’ve moved to Nashville, I must say that I have grown to love a good cowrite.  The benefit of having someone else there to bounce an idea off of is pretty awesome.  I’ve been a part of some pretty awesome songs that I otherwise would probably not have written by myself.

Are you a writer or a vocalist or a poet or a musician first – why/how so?

I’m a writer with poetic tendencies.  I can’t help it… I’m a hopeless romantic.  I guess that’s just how I’m wired.  I’ve never really thought of myself as vocalist.  However, I am thankful to have the ability to share my songs with others in the matter in which they were intended.

What has been the highlight of your career so far?

The highlight of my career had to have been my week-long stay at the Lazy L Horse Ranch in Dubois, WY as an attendee of Skip Ewing’s Horse and Writer Invitational. Besides being perhaps the most beautiful place in the world, I learned so much from Skip Ewing, Deanna Bryant, and Clay Mills, and also made some amazing lifelong friends. That trip was a definite turning point for me as a writer. Not only did I learn more about the craft, but I gained a lot of much-needed confidence in my ability, which, in moderation, is quite important in this industry.

What is the best piece of advice you have learned about Nashville, music, or life so far?

Life is truly an adventure. It’s always doing what you least expect. When you think you’ve got it all figured out, you’ll find out sooner or later that you indeed have nothing figured out. As far as this town is concerned, I absolutely love it. And the one thing I learned right off the bat is that Nashville has the look and feel of big city, but the music community is so small! I can’t believe how many friends I’ve made that know the same people, have the same lawyers, use the same guitar players, record at the same studio…it’s truly amazing. I love it.

New Year’s Resolutions… do you make them?  Stick by them? why/why not…

This year I resolved to make a resolution…but I forgot.

Where did the song “Time” come from?

The song just kind of came to me one morning around 7.  I just woke up and the moment I opened my eyes and saw the clock, my first thought was, “Is it really 7?  Man, time’s not afraid to fly.”  Seriously. It was that easy.  30 minutes later, “Time” was finished.

_________________________________________________________________________

We know time as a mind of it’s own, but maybe this weekend (if you haven’t already) YOU can have a mind of your own by directing your own time into a session of reflection and awareness for 2010.  Harvey MacKay is quoted as saying, “Time is free, but it’s priceless.  You can’t own it, but you can use it.  You can’t keep it, but you can spend it.  Once you’ve lost it, you can never get it back.”

Once you have lost it… you can never get it back!

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

