harmonicprogression

Up To The Mountain: Martin Luther King, Jr. Tribute

In Favorite Song, Hear this, Life Around Me, Lyrics, Music, People that Rock, Songwriting, United States, You HAVE to on January 18, 2010 at 12:14 pm

Martin Luther King, Jr Day, 2010 is a day to remember a great man that was used as a vessel for peace and paved the way for global change.  “King’s main legacy was to secure progress on civil rights in the United States, which has enabled more Americans to reach their potential.  He is frequently referenced as a human rights icon today.  His name and legacy have often been invoked since his death as people have debated his likely position on various modern political issues.” (wikipedia)

Songwriters often look to reality for inspiration.  Patty Griffin is one of the many to be inspired by Dr. King.  Her song Up To The Mountain was inspired by the last speech he was ever able to deliver – I’ve Been To The Mountain TopDr, Martin Luther King, Jr. delivered this speech in support of the striking sanitation workers at Mason Temple in Memphis, TN on April 3, 1968 – the day before he was assassinated.   What would he think about this speech now knowing that it was his last public opportunity to encourage peace and change?  For the full speech click here.

Since this is a blog dedicated to Nashville, music, and all things worth talking about in between – Patty’s song in honor of Dr. King accurately captures the day and the songwriter’s attempt to digest and pay homage to history.  Take the time to watch the song and remember the strides we have taken in our country and those that still need to be accomplished.

“Up To The Mountain (MLK Song)”

I went up to the mountain
Because you asked me to
Up over the clouds
To where the sky was blue
I could see all around me
Everywhere
I could see all around me
Everywhere

Sometimes I feel like
I’ve never been nothing but tired
And I’ll be walking
Till the day I expire
Sometimes I lay down
No more can I do
But then I go on again
Because you ask me to

Some days I look down
Afraid I will fall
And though the sun shines
I see nothing at all
Then I hear your sweet voice, oh
Oh, come and then go, come and then go
Telling me softly
You love me so

The peaceful valley
Just over the mountain
The peaceful valley
Few come to know
I may never get there
Ever in this lifetime
But sooner or later
It’s there I will go
Sooner or later
It’s there I will go

Hear Patty Griffin sing her tribute to MLK here
Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

