harmonicprogression

The Odds Are In His Favor

In Hear this, Life Around Me, Music, Singing, Songwriting, You HAVE to on March 2, 2010 at 4:30 pm

With the Oscars less than a week away, how can music lovers look forward to the awards?  Songs tell stories and most people who love a good song, enjoy a good movie.  More specifically though, there are a few categories that cater to the musical mind.  One of those is Best Original Song.  This year the odds are in favor for Randy Newman.

Randy monopolizes the 5 slot list with two entries

  • “Almost There,” The Princess and the Frog
  • “Down in New Orleans,” The Princess and the Frog

Nominations for Original Song were originally only required to appear in a motion picture.  This rule was changed after the 1941 Academy Awards, when “The Last Time I Saw Paris”, from the film Lady Be Good, with music by Jerome Kern and lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein II, won.  Kern was upset that his song won because it had been published and recorded before it was used in the movie.  The song was actually written in 1940, after the Germans occupied Paris at the start of World War II.  It was recorded by Kate Smith and peaked at number 8 on the best seller list before it was used in the film Lady Be Good.  Kern got the Academy to change the rule so that only songs that are “original and written specifically for the film” are eligible to win. (see full description)

Could he win for best Original song with either of these entries?  Randy has been nominated for an Academy Award 18 times and has only one once.  His 2002 win for “If I Didn’t Have You” from Monster’s Inc. broke a 20 year dry spell as he was first nominated in 1982 for “One More Hour” from Ragtime.  Can he win with either on of these or will it just round out his nominations list to 20?  Leave your comments below!

Almost There

Mama! I don’t have time for dancing!

That’s just gonna have to wait a while
Ain’t got time for messing around
And it’s not my style
This old town can slow you down
People taking the easy way
But I know exactly where I’m going
Getting closer and closer every day

And I’m almost there, I’m almost there
People down here think I’m crazy, but I don’t care
Trials and tribulations, I’ve had my share
There ain’t nothing gonna stop me now ’cause I’m almost there

I remember Daddy told me: “Fairytales can come true
You gotta make ’em happen, it all depends on you”
So I work real hard each and every day
Now things for sure are going my way
Just doing what I do
Look out boys, I’m coming through

[Chorus] x2

Down In New Orleans

In the South Land there’s a city
Way down on the river
Where the women are very pretty
And all the men deliver

They got music
It’s always playin’
Start in the day time, go all through the night

When you hear that music playin’
Hear what I’m saying, it make you feel alright

Grab somebody, come on down
Bring your paintbrush, we’re paintin’ the town
Oh there’s some sweetness goin’ ’round
Catch it down in New Orleans

We got magic, good and bad
Make you happy or make you real sad
Get everything you want, lose what you had
Down here in New Orleans

Hey partner, don’t be shy
Come on down here and give us a try
You wanna do some livin’ before you die
Do it down in New Orleans

Stately homes and mansions
Of the Sugar Barons and the Cotton Kings
Rich people, old people, all got dreams
Dreams do come true in New Orleans

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

